Skeleton Within (Finished)

Finished Venus painting

The painting I chose to do was “The Birth of Venus” by Sandro Botticelli, dated 1486.

I found placing the skeleton within the figure to be an interesting challenge. In some parts, I was surprised at how well I was able to tell where the bones would go, while with others, it was a matter of trial and error. One thing interesting about this painting is that the placement of Venus’s legs are actually not anatomically possible. I have heard this fact before but I never really understood what it meant because I couldn’t really see the error at all, no matter how hard I looked. However, working with the skeleton anatomy, I finally did see what the critics were talking about. Her thigh is facing almost straight forward, and then her knee bone is turned to the right. In order for this to be possible, the lower leg bones would have to overlap the upper leg bones at the knee.

This entry was posted in Non-timebased and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

